My View on Nutrition

Nutrition can be understood in many different ways. My current view on nutrition is keeping a balanced diet and staying active. I find nutrition to be very important because it allows your body to stay fit, healthy, and in shape. Food is also a large part of it, and food is very important to my family and I.

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 10.42.07 AM

picture of healthy food. taken by kelli johnson

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 10.42.12 AM

picture of almonds. By kelli johnson

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 10.42.18 AM

picture of peanut butter, blueberries, and strawberries. taken by kelli johnson.

My view on nutrition has changed as I have grown up. Ever since I was three years old I participated in very serious dance classes and was at the studio up to 20 hours a week. Staying fit and healthy was key in dance and very important to keeping yourself healthy with all the exercise. Starting from a young age nutrition was drilled and a perfect helahty body was idolized. Once I got to middle school I realized that being healthy is not just eating salads for every meal, it is eating healthy foods with junk in moderation. Watching my fellow dancers eat very strict diets helped me learn that I can eat what I want in moderation while keeping an active lifestyle to balance the junk food out. From a young age I learned important eating habits, portion sizes, and how to maintain a balanced diet. Growing up with this being very important it became a normal routine to eat healthy, and luckily for me, it stuck.

picture of me, kelli johnson, dancing.

picture of me, kelli johnson, dancing.

My family and I also travel around the world together, and love to eat. Sometimes it is hard not to eat all the unhealthy food that you see and experience when traveling, but I have also learned that healthy foods are good foods! While traveling my family and I have picked up recopies that we make at home that are yummy, nutritious, and balanced. I am very lucky to travel around the world with my family and eat all the good foods together!

IMG_6783

food in italy. taken by kelli johnson

DSCN0895

picture of my family (and best friend bridget) traveling in spain.

DSCN0780

picture of piaya in spain. Taken by kelli johnson

Nutrition is all around me in life and it is key to keeping a healthy lifestyle! With the guidance from my experiences with dance, and the help and fun with my family I am living a healthy life filled with exercise, good food, and fun times!

2 thoughts on “My View on Nutrition

  1. Wow, Kelli this is a great blog post! Being your mom, I know how hard you work on keeping a healthy lifestyle! You do such a great job, and always have. I love to travel with you and we do eat the best food :)! I think nutrition is very important and am very happy how you keep me on healthy habits. Keep up the good work!

  2. Great post Kelli! We do love food! This post is so important and I really enjoyed reading it. Great job and keep up the good work. I think being healthy and keeping up on ones nutrition is very important. Like you, I did competitive soccer when I was young and eating healthy was very important to me as well. I am glad you are enjoying blogging, this is a cool post! Keep up the great work!

Leave a comment